You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Voting starts in bypolls for 4 TN Assembly seats

IANS  |  Chennai 

Voting in the by-elections for four Assembly constituencies -- Aravakuruchi, Sulur, Thiruparankundram and -- began on Sunday morning.

Similarly, repolling in the 13 booths in Erode, Dharmapuri, Tiruvallur and Cuddalore Lok Sabha constituencies in started at 7 a.m.

Voters in these four constituencies will decide the electoral fate of 137 candidates in the fray.

However, the main contest will be between the ruling AIADMK, principal opposition party DMK, and an T.T.V.Dhinakaran-floated AMMK party.

Kamal Haasan's party (MNM) candidates are also in the contention.

By-elections for 18 Assembly constituencies were held on April 18 along with the Lok Sabha polls in the state.

According to about 16,000 police personnel will be deployed in the four assembly seats for security purposes.

The results of the by-polls for 22 assembly constituencies are crucial for ruling AIADMK, opposition and AMMK parties.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, May 19 2019. 07:20 IST