You are here: Home » Politics » News » National
Business Standard

Ram Nath Kovind vs Meira Kumar: Voting begins for India's next President

Whoever wins will succeed President Pranab Mukherjee, who will demit office on July 25

IANS  |  New Delhi 

Meira Kumar Vs Ram Nath Kovind Presidential Election 2017
Voting for India's next President begins as Opposition nominee Meira Kumar squares off against NDA's candidate Ram Nath Kovind

Voting to elect the country's 14th President began on Monday morning.

All elected MPs and member of Legislative Assemblies are eligible to cast their vote to elect the successor of Pranab Mukherjee, who demits office on July 25.

The contest is between Democratic Alliance (NDA) nominee Ram Nath Kovind and candidate of several major opposition parties Meira Kumar, who was former Lok Sabha Speaker.

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 10:41 IST