You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Campaigning for 8 LS seats in MP ends, polling on May 19

Press Trust of India  |  Bhopal 

Campaigning for eight seats in Madhya Pradesh, which go to polls on May 19, ended at 5pm Friday.

Dewas, Ujjain, Mandsaur, Ratlam, Dhar, Indore, and are the eight seats, all currently held by the BJP.

ministers Kantilal Bhuria, are in the fray from and Khandwa, the latter seeing a tough fight between Yadav and ex-Nandkumar Singh Chauhan.

Meenakshi Natarajan, once a of Rahul Gandhi, is trying her luck again from Mandsaur, after being defeated in 2014.

At the centre of the campaigning has been the Congress-led government's farm loan waiver scheme, which has been debunked by the opposition BJP in the state.

Even had raised the issue at his rallies and said the in was sending police and recovery notices to farmers rather than writing off their loans.

had hit back by claiming the loan waiver had benefited several lakh farmers and even showed papers at rallies to prove that loans of ex-chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan's brother and nephew had been written off.

also campaigned and managed to draw good crowds in Ujjain, and

Eighty-two candidates are in the fray in the eight seats, comprising six in Dewas, nine in Ujjain, 13 in Mandsaur, nine in Ratlam, seven in Dhar, 20 in Indore, seven in and 11 in

Out of the total 29 seats in MP, election in the first phase was held in six constituencies on April 29, followed by the second phase polls for seven constituencies on May 6 and eight seats in the third phase on May 23.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, May 17 2019. 17:56 IST