You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Dominant Indian women crush Pakistan by 7 wickets

Press Trust of India  |  Kuala Lumpur 

A dominant sailed into the final of the women's Twenty20 tournament with a seven-wicket drubbing of arch-rivals in their last round robin match here today.

Electing to bat after winning the toss, were restricted to 72 for seven in the allotted 20 overs at the Kinrara Academy Oval.

Left-arm spinner was the most successful bowler, claiming impressive figures of 3/14 in her four-over spell. The others chipped in with a scalp apiece, although pace spearhead Jhulan Goswami went wicket-less surprisingly.

Bisht was named of the Match.

Chasing a meagre target, completed the task with as many as 23 balls to spare.

Opener Smriti Mandhana top-scored with 38 off 40 balls while made 34 in 49 deliveries.

Veteran and failed to open their account, but their failures did not come in the way of India's win.

India were off to a disastrous start as they lost Raj and Sharma with just five runs on the board in the third over, but the low target allowed them the liberty of taking things easy.

The duo of Mandhana and Harmanpreet then added 65 runs for the third wicket, a recovery act that powered the team to within striking distance of another victory.

Even as Mandhana got out with three runs for win, Harmanpreet was there to guide her side home.

Earlier, Pakistan's decision to bat did not yield the desired result as they lost wicket at regular intervals, and were stopped at 72.

Sana Mir, one of the most well-know names of women's cricket, top-scored for the side with 20, but she consumed as many as 38 balls.

Opener Nahida Khan (18) was the only other Pakistan batswoman to reach double digit.

This was India's fourth win in five matches, their only reverse being the shocking defeat to But they bounced back in style, winning against and Pakistan.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, June 09 2018. 11:10 IST