Business Standard

DY Patil T20: Contrasting wins order of day in Quarter Finals


Press Trust of India Navi Mumbai
DY Patil Sports 'B', BPCL, Reliance 1 and CAG made it to the semi-finals of the 14th DY Patil T20 Cup with contrasting wins in their quarter-final encounters today.

India's U19 World Cup star Kamlesh Nagarkoti and his captain Saurabh Tiwary (83) starred in Reliance 1's 34-run win over Western Railway at the University Ground.

Reliance 1 posted a modest 149-8 in their 20 overs, thanks largely to their captain Tiwary (83: 51b, 1x4, 8x6). Later, when Western Railway began batting, Nagarkoti's 3-16 supplemented by MD Nidheesh's spell of 3-20 scripted a fine win for Reliance 1. Another U19 World Cup star Abhishek Sharma (2-14) contributed to the win as well.

At the DY Patil Stadium, DY Patil Sports 'B' was led by skipper Pravin Tambe's fine spell of 4-22 as they defended a total of 170-9 against Collage Group. The DY Patil innings was fashioned by openers Shashank Singh (55: 44b, 2x4, 3x6) and Kevin D'Almeida (45).

In their response Collage never got going as they lost wickets at regular intervals as they went down by 26 runs.

In the afternoon at the stadium, Abhishek Nayar's fine all-round show (70 & 1-11) helped BPCL score an impressive six wicket win over Jain Irrigation Limited. Batting first, Jain posted a modest 113. For BPCL, Rishi Arothe (4-15) and Prathamesh Dake (3-11) were the best bowlers. In their response, Nayar (70: 34b, 8x4, 3x6) led the way with a fine knock to seal the win in the 14th over.

In the final quarter-final clash, Indian Oil went down to CAG by five wickets. Despite handy knocks by India U19 skipper Prithvi Shaw (31) and former Test opener Wasim Jaffer (37), Indian Oil posted a moderate 152-8 in their 20 overs. In their response, CAG chased down the target in the 20th over thanks to Ankit Kaushik's 51 (34b, 5x4, 3x6).

BRIEF SCORES DY Patil Sports 'B' 170-9 in 20 overs (Shashank Singh 55, Kevin D'Almeida 45; Jayanshu Chaturvedi 2-24, Parvinder Awana 2-30, Subodh Bhati 2-42) bt Collage Group 144-9 in 20 overs (Pramod Chandila 46, Shivam Choudhary 33; Pravin Tambe 4-22, Vineet Sinha 2-25)-by 26 runs.

Jain Irrigation 113 in 18.5 overs (Jay Bista 40, Dhrumil Matkar 25; Rishi Arothe 4-15, Prathamesh Dake 3-11) lost to BPCL 119-4 in 14 overs (Abhishek Nayar 70, Mandeep Singh 23; Dhaval Hemnani 3-21)-by six wickets.

Reliance 1 149-8 in 20 overs (Saurabh Tiwary 83, Akshdeep Nath 36; Chintan Gaja 3-29, Vinayak Bhoir 2-16) bt Western Railway 115 in 17.4 overs (Nikunj Mohite 34; Kamlesh Nagarkoti 3-16, MD Nidheesh 3-20, Abhishek Sharma 2-14)-by 34 runs.

Indian Oil 152-8 in 20 overs (Wasim Jaffer 37, Prithvi Shaw 31, Rohan Raje 29 n.o.; Ishwar Pandey 2-21, Gurinder Singh 2-16, Sayan Ghosh 2-49) lost to CAG 156-5 in 19.1 overs (Ankit Kaushik 51 n.o., Prashant Chopra 44; Rohan Raje 3-29)-by 5 wickets.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Feb 27 2018 | 9:10 PM IST

Explore News