Business Standard

LS Polls: BJP's decision to replace 6 sitting MPs pays off handsomely

All of the replacement candidates won by comfortable margins as the calculated risk seemed to have paid off

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

BJP supporters in Kolkata celebrate the party’s lead in the Lok Sabha polls| Photo: PTI
BJP supporters celebrate the party’s lead in the Lok Sabha polls| Photo: PTI

The BJP's decision to replace six sitting MPs in for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls paid off handsomely as all six won with comfortable margins.

The sitting MPs replaced were veterans A T Nana Patil from Jalgaon, Dilip Gandhi from Ahmednagar, Harishchandra Chavan in and first time MPs Anil Shirole from Pune, Sharad Bandsode in Solapur and Sunil Gaikwad from Latur.

Unmesh Patil, the BJP nominee in defeated his NCP rival and former state minister Gulabrao Deokar by a margin of 4,11,617 votes.

In Dindori, Bharati Pawar won by a margin of 1,98,779 votes over her NCP rival Dhanraj Mahale. Pawar, then with the NCP, had contested unsuccessfully against sitting BJP MP Harishchandra Chavan in 2014.

BJP replaced five time MP Dilip Gandhi in and gave a ticket to Sujay Vikhe Patil, son of senior Congress leader Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil.

He romped home by a margin of 2,81,474 votes over his NCP rival Sangram Jagtap.

The party nominated senior leader and state minister Girish Bapat in Pune replacing sitting MP Anil Shirole, the move paying off with the former winning by 3,24,628 votes.

In Latur, the BJP replaced Sunil Gaikwad with who won with a margin of 2,89,111 votes.

While in Solapur, the BJP replaced sitting MP Sharad Bandsode with Lingayat spiritual leader Jaisiddeshwar Swami who defeated former Union minister and senior Congressman Sushilkumar Shinde by a margin of 1,58,608 votes.

First Published: Fri, May 24 2019. 16:46 IST