You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

MP EOW files cases in e-tender rigging case

Press Trust of India  |  Bhopal 

The Economic Offences Wing (EOW) of Madhya PradeshPolice Wednesday registered cases against officials of seven companies, government departments and others including "politicians" in the Rs 3,000 crore rigging racket.

The racket, where portal of the government was hacked to manipulate tenders and grab contracts, was allegedly operating when the BJP was in power.

The development comes three days after the Income Tax department raided places linked to

The EOW has filed cases against directors and marketing representatives of seven companies, unknown officials of five state government departments and politicians, a senior said here.

They were charged under IPC section 420 (cheating), the Act and Prevention of Corruption Act.

The seven construction companies involved in the alleged racket were GVPR Limited, Ms (both based in Hyderabad), The and (both based in Mumbai), and Ms Projects (both based in Vadodara) and Ram Kumar Narwani Limited (based in Bhopal), the EOW said in a release.

Some officials of Bhopal-based which issued 'signature certificate' for too have been charged.

Government departments including Jal Nigam, Lok Nirman Vibhag (and its Project Implementation Unit), and Water Resources Development had floated nine tenders which were tampered with.

Some officials of two which developed the of the MP Electronic Development Corporation are also under scanner for leaking information which allowed hacking of the portal, the said.

The companies allegedly hacked the MP e-tendering portal to quote lowest rates and bag projects worth Rs 3,000 crore between January to March2018.

These tenders were later cancelled.

In the run-up to the November 2018 Assembly polls, the had targeted the BJP government over the alleged racket.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, April 10 2019. 22:45 IST