You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Post tampering era begins with new Australia contracted players

AFP  |  Sydney 

Fast bowlers were the winners as Australia's post ball-tampering era began Wednesday with a heavily revamped list of nationally contracted players, minus the suspended and

The list of 20 men's players offered deals by for the 2018-19 season on the basis of their performances over the past 12 months included five first-timers.

Speedsters Jhye Richardson, and made the cut, along with all-rounder and wicketkeeper

New and batsman rejoined the list, while spinner Adam Zampa, pacemen and James Pattinson, all-rounder Hilton Cartwright and wicketkeeper dropped off.

Chadd Sayers, who has played Test in the past six months, missed out.

The minimum value of a contract for the upcoming season is Aus$286,000 (US$222,000).

With the next falling within the contract period, selectors placed a strong emphasis on the limited overs formats in selecting players.

"This period is set to include a significant amount of limited-overs cricket, including the ICC 2019 in England and Wales," said national selector

"For that reason, there has been a bit of a focus in this contracting period on white-ball cricket, as we look ahead to trying to win back-to-back World Cups." Test opener held onto his contract after being rushed in as a replacement for in the fourth Test against late last month.

But Joe Burns, who was also jetted to to help out after Smith, Warner and Bancroft were sent home over the tampering scandal failed to make the grade.

"It's a tough process, but we're very satisfied with this group of 20 players," said Hohns.

"We think this a well-balanced list to represent across all three formats." The ball-tampering scandal during the third Test in stunned the sport and sparked reviews into the culture within Australian cricket.

Smith and Warner have been banned from international and domestic cricket for a year, while Bancroft was exiled for nine months, leaving the squad badly weakened.

They have all apologised and accepted the sanctions.

Smith was charged with knowledge of the plot to alter the ball, while Warner was charged with developing it and instructing Bancroft to carry it out.

Contracted list: Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Matt Renshaw, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis,

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, April 11 2018. 07:55 IST