Business Standard

Shiv Sena denies ticket to MP who hit Air India staff and boasted about it

Sena has replaced Gaikwad with Omraje Nimbalkar in Osmanabad constituency

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

ravindra, gaikwad
Ravindra Gaikwad. File photo.

Friday declared a list of 21 candidates for the poll, dropping an who hit an staffer in 2017.

Ravindra Gaikwad, 59, had hit an staffer with a slipper at the in and then openly boasted about it.

The Sena has replaced Gaikwad with Omraje Nimbalkar in Osmanabad constituency.

The party named as its nominee in the Hingoli seat, dropping who lost to candidate in 2014.

As per the seat-sharing pact between the BJP and the Sena, the latter will contest 23 LS seats, leaving 25 for its senior alliance partner.

The Sena is expected to announce nominees from the remaining two seats - Palghar and Satara - soon.

"We will announce the names of remaining candidates by Sunday," told reporters here, while announcing the list.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, March 22 2019. 17:05 IST