You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

SKM announces names of nine candidates for Sikkim Assembly

Press Trust of India  |  Gangtok 

Sunday announced the names of nine candidates for the coming state assembly polls to be held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha elections.

The announcement of the canidates' names follows SKM calling off its nascent alliance with the on Friday and deciding to contest all the 32 state assembly seats and the lone Lok Sabha seat in

SKM P S Golay announced the names at a well attended meeting of the party at Hee Gaon in West during the day.

The nine candidates represent all the four districts of Sikkim, he said adding they have been selected unanimously by the party's parliamentary committee.

The names of the rest of the candidates will be announced soon, he said.

The list of candidates announced includes the names of Kunga and Rev who are sitting MLAs in the assembly.

The seven other candidates are Sangey Lepcha from Yuksam Tashiding, Mingma Norbu Sherpa fromDaramdin, M K Dhakal fromSingtam Khamdong, Chungkipu Lepcha from Dzongu, Sandup Lepcha from Lachen-Mangan, R K Basnett fromRangang-Yanagang and Ganesh Rai from Namchi-Singhithang seats, he said.

Kunga will contest fromSyari andRev from the Sangha seat, he added.

Polling for the Lok Sabha and the state assembly will be held simultaneously on April 11.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, March 17 2019. 19:30 IST