You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Spl development councils in 9 tribal Odisha dists

Press Trust of India  |  Bhubaneswar 

government has formed special development councils (SDCs) in nine tribal-dominated districts of the state, said.

The nine tribal dominated districts are - Nabarangpur, Malkangiri, Koraput, Rayagada, Kandhamal, Gajapati, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, and Sundargarh.

The SDCs will focus on preservation and promotion of tribal culture and traditions, heritage and unique identity of tribal communities in accordance with their socio-economic development, said launching the councils at a function here yesterday.

A total of Rs 175 crore will be spent per annum through these councils and the would provide Rs 1.5 crore financial assistance to each block of the nine districts which is over and above the funds allotted under different schemes.

The SDCs will benefit around 14 lakh tribal families on their cultural, educational, sports and economic development activities, he said.

The also reiterated the state governments commitment to all-round development and welfare of tribals in the state.

has 62 tribes out of which 13 tribes are known as particularly vulnerable tribal groups.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, March 10 2018. 18:30 IST