You are here: Home » Sports » India England Series » News

IND vs ENG 1st T20 highlights: England wins by 8 wickets, takes 1-0 lead

Jason Roy then smashed 49 off 32 balls as England overhauled the target, in 15.3 overs. Check India vs England 1st T20 scorecard and match highlights here

India vs England | India cricket team | England cricket team

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


Indian batsmen had little to offer in the face of a regimented English bowling effort on a two-paced track as the hosts received an eight-wicket hammering in the opening Twenty20 International, at Narendra Modi Stadium, popularly known as Motera Stadium, in Ahmedabad on Friday. then smashed 49 off 32 balls as England overhauled the target, in 15.3 overs, to take 1-0 lead in five-match series.


Check IND vs ENG 2nd T20 playing 11 and pitch report here

CHeck IND vs ENG 2nd T20 toss, match time and free live telecast details here

Indian batsmen struggled to score freely before showed the way with a dogged 67-run knock that took Virat Kohli's men to 124 for seven at the the Narendra Modi stadiumThe Indian batsmen never got the momentum going as England's pace-heavy attack, led by Mark Wood, used the extra bounce effectively to trouble them.

Most of the Indian batsmen went for flashy shots when placement would have served them well, as Iyer did later in the innings.

The world's biggest stadium, which has a seating capacity of 1,32,000, played host to 67,000 fans, according to cricket website ESPNcricinfo, way more than the 50 per cent capacity that was to be filled for the game in the middle of the Covid-19 pandemic.

scored a well-calculated 49-run knock while Jonny Bairstow's big hits showed there were no demons in the pitch as the Indians made it seem after being invited to bat by England skipper .

Roy struck the ball clean and hard to form a 72-run opening wicket stand with (28), ending any hopes that the Indians harboured of getting back in the game.

The luxury of time allowed the England batsmen to play freely. None of the Indian bowlers looked like asking tough questions to the visitors.

Roy was trapped by Washington Sundar but by that time England had put 89 runs on the board. Bairstow (26) and Dawid Malan (24) took the side past the finish line.

Earlier, after India's top-order was blown away, Iyer gauged the nature of the pitch quickly and adjusted his game accordingly, playing a sensible innings that helped them cross the 100-run mark.

Laced with eight boundaries and a six, and coming off 48 balls, it was Iyer's best T20 knock. He fell in the last over.

England surprised India by opening the attack with leg-spinner Adil Rashid, who was not only economical but also dismissed Kohli (0) after (1) dragged one back onto his stumps from (3/23).

Check IND vs ENG latest news updates here

England innings scorecard
Batsman Dismissals Runs Balls Fours Sixes
Jason Roy lbw b Sundar 49 32 4 3
Jos Buttler lbw b Chahal 26 21 2 1
Dawid Malan not out 24 20 2 1
Jonny Bairstow not out 26 17 1 2
Total: 130-2 in 15.3 Overs
Bowler Overs Maiden Runs Wickets
Axar Patel 3 0 24 0
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2 0 15 0
Yuzvendra Chahal 4 0 44 1
Shardul Thakur 2 0 16 0
Hardik Pandya 2 0 13 0
Washington Sundar 2.3 0 18 1

IND vs ENG 1st T20: Indian innings scorecard

Batsman Dismissals Runs Balls Fours Sixes
Shikhar Dhawan b Wood 4 12 0 0
KL Rahul b Archer 1 4 0 0
Virat Kohli c Jordan b Rashid 0 5 0 0
Rishabh Pant c Bairstow b Stokes 21 23 2 1
Shreyas Iyer c Malan b Jordan 67 48 8 1
Hardik Pandya c Jordan b Archer 19 2 1 1
Shardul Thakur c Malan b Archer 0 1 0 0
Washington Sundar not out 3 3 0 0
Axar Patel not out 7 3 1 0
Total: 112-6 in 19 Overs
Bowler Overs Maiden Runs Wickets
Adil Rashid 3 0 14 1
Jofra Archer 4 1 23 3
Mark Wood 4 0 20 1
Chris Jordan 4 0 27 1
Ben Stokes 3 0 25 1
Sam Curran 2 0 15 0

playing 11
Pacer Bhuvnewshwar Kumar has returned to India playing 11 while would open with as Rohit gets rested for first two T20s.

India playing 11: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, (captain), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur, .

England playing 11: Jason Roy, Jos Buttler(w), Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Eoin Morgan(c), Ben Stokes, Sam Curran, Jofra Archer, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, .

Check highlights here…


Auto Refresh