Business Standard

Highlights: Only BJP can stop atrocities on women in Bengal, says PM Modi

Catch all the highlights on the announcements related to General Elections 2024 here

Image BS Web Team New Delhi
PM Modi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi (Photo: X/@BJP4India)

Addressing a rally in at Cooch Behar rally, Prime Minister Narendra Modi asserted that only the BJP can stop atrocities on women in West Bengal.

The BJP hit out at Congress leader Randeep Surjewala for making "vile, sexist" remarks against Mathura MP Hema Malini, saying it showed that the Congress abhors women. Surjewala stated only selective parts of his speech were shared by the BJP IT cell, adding that it had a habit of "distorting facts and spreading lies".

Former spokesperson Gourav Vallabh has joined the BJP, hours after quitting the Congress. 

In a press conference today, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)  hit out at the Congress accusing its leader Randeep Surjewala of making “vile, sexist” remarks against its Mathura MP Hema Malini.

Odisha's ruling party Biju Janata Dal (BJD) declared the names of candidates in its second list for the upcoming Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in the state. BJD candidates for five Lok Sabha seats announced by BJD supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik are Surendra Singh Bhoi from Balangir), Manjulata Mandal (Bhadrak), Parineeta Mishra (Bargarh), Bhrugu Baxipatra (Berhampur) and Dhanurjay Siddu (Keonjhar). The names of 27 candidates for simultaneous assembly elections have also been declared. The 27-member list released for the assembly polls included seven female candidates. They are Anusaya Patra (Badasahi), Preetinanda Kanungo (Morada), Alaka Mohanty (Brajrajnagar), Depali Das (Jharsuguda), Jayashree Kanhar (Phulbani), Suryamani Vaidya (Khalikote) and Majula Swain Aska. Also,  the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday declared its first list of 112 candidates for the assembly elections in Odisha. The saffron party has fielded Jayanta Kumar Sarangi from Puri, Prakash Chandra Sethi from Cuttack Sadar, and Jagannath Pradhan from Bhubaneswar Central.

A senior election official stated that 47 candidates filed their nomination papers on Tuesday for the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh. Till now 81 candidates have filed their nomination papers of which 47 filed on Wednesday,  State Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Navdeep Rinwa stated. On April 26, voting in the second phase will be conducted in eight parliamentary constituencies -- Amroha, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Gautam Budhnagar, Bulandshahr, Aligarh and Mathura. Among those who filed their nominations for the second phase of the polls are Kunwar Danish Ali of the Congress from the Amroha Lok Sabha seat, Atul Garg of the BJP from Ghaziabad and Dr. Mahesh Sharma of the BJP from Gautam Buddh Nagar.
4:41 PM

News update: Jailed ex-Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren not to contest from Dumka LS seat, JMM fields MLA Nalin Soren

Making it clear that jailed former Chief Minister Hemant Soren will not contest from Dumka constituency as speculated earlier, the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) today nominated its Shikaripada lawmaker Nalin Soren from the Lok Sabha seat.
4:37 PM

CPI(M) election manifesto: Will fight for law against hate speech; committed to scrapping CAA, says CPI(M)

In a post on X, CPI(M) highlighted its objectives:
- Defeat the BJP and its allies.
- Increase the strength of the CPI(M) and the Left parties in the Lok Sabha.
- Ensure that an alternative secular government is formed at the Centre.
4:30 PM

CPI(M) releases manifesto for Lok Sabha polls 2024, promises to scrap UAPA and PMLA

Sitaram Yechury on Thursday released CPI(M)'s manifesto for Lok Sabha polls. Yechury also promised an alternative secular government and pledged to scrap 'draconian' laws such as UAPA and PMLA.
4:26 PM

TMC govt tried its best to protect the accused in Sandeshkhali: PM Modi

4:13 PM

Only BJP can stop atrocities against women in Sandeshkhali: PM Modi

"It is the BJP only which can stop atrocities against women here. The whole country has seen how the TMC govt tried its best to protect the accused in Sandeshkhali. BJP has resolved to ensure punishment for the accused in the Sandeshkhali incident. They will have to spend their lives in jail," PM Modi said at an election rally in West Bengal's Cooch Behar.
3:13 PM

Lok Sabha 2024 updates: Pappu Yadav adds to Cong troubles, says will enter LS fray from Purnea as Independent

Congress leader Pappu Yadav today stated he would file his nomination from Purnea as an Independent candidate. The development could lead to trouble in the INDIA bloc in the state, as the Congress and the RJD recently clinched a seat-sharing deal as part of which the former set aside Purnea for the latter.
3:09 PM

Haryana NCW condemns Haryana Congress leader Randeep Surjewala for remarks on Hema Malini

The BJP on Wednesday had accused Haryana Congress leader Randeep Surjewala of making sexist and deragotary remarks against its MP Hema Malini.
3:03 PM

News update: Over 90,000 litres of liquor seized in Dakshina Kannada in run-up to General Elections

Officials have confiscated a staggering 90,443 litres of liquor valued at Rs 1,95,47,179 in the district, along with drugs worth Rs. 8,69,950 as on April 3 since the model code of conduct for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections came into force.
3:02 PM

Won't support BJP's 'Hindi, Hindutva, Hindustan' agenda: Shashi Tharoor

 Congress leader Shashi Tharoor today stated the opposition's concern stems from the "Hindi, Hindutva, Hindustan" agenda of the proponents of Hindu Rashtra.
The Congress had on Tuesday said that after Anantkumar Hegde, another leader of the ruling BJP, Jyoti Mirdha, openly said that the party's aim is to change the Constitution. The Congress said the remark exposed the "deliberate strategy" of the BJP.
2:51 PM

News update: Lok Sabha polls a contest between 'Brand Modi' and 'Brand virodhi', says Ajay Alok of BJP

1:44 PM

Allegation of MCC violation against Dhburi Congress aspirant Rakibul Hussain

Assam poll officials have showcased Congress' Dhubri parliamentary constituency candidate Rakibul Hussain for alleged violation of election Model Code of Conduct (MCC). Bilasipara district's MCC cell nodal officer in a letter to the president and secretary of the party's district unit alleged that the Congress legislator had organised a public meeting on March 28 at Simultala without the prior permission of the district election officer.
1:38 PM

Lok Sabha polls 2024 update: Tremendous arrogance in Congress leadership, says former MP Sanjay Nirupam

A day after being expelled from the Congress, former MP Sanjay Nirupam took a jabt the Grand Old Party today and stated there is "tremendous arrogance" in the party leadership. Addressing reporters, Nirupam stated that the Congress is history and has no future and that the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) is a merger of three "sick units". "There is tremendous arrogance in the Congress leadership," he alleged.
1:34 PM

Former spokesperson Gaurav Vallabh joins BJP, hours after quitting Cong

Former spokesperson Gourav Vallabh has joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), hours after quitting the Congress. 
12:46 PM

Glad my little brother Chirag has stepped into the shoes of my friend late Ram Vilas Paswan: PM Modi

12:42 PM

Congress, its ally RJD brought disrepute to the nation: PM Modi

Congress and  its ally Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) brought disrepute to the nation, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said at rally in Bihar's Jamui.

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Apr 04 2024 | 9:17 AM IST

Explore News