You are here » Home » Sports ยป IPL 2019
  • CSK

    151/4 (19)


    147/9 (20)

    CSK win by 6 wickets
  • DC

    165/8 (19.5)


    162/8 (20)

    DC win by 2 wickets
Teams P PTS
MI 14 18
CSK 14 18
DC 14 18
SRH 14 12
KKR 14 12
KXIP 14 12
RR 14 11
RCB 14 11
Qualified for playoffs

IPL 2019

Indian Premier League (IPL), the club-level short-format cricket tournament of the cash-rich Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), is considered the world's biggest extravaganza for cricketers and advertisers alike. Founded by BCCI after India clinched the inaugural ICC Twenty20 World Cup trophy in South Africa under Mahendra Singh Dhoni's captaincy, IPL today even has an exclusive window in the ICC Future Tours Programme.

On September 13, 2007, Lalit Modi, then vice-president of BCCI, had in a high-profile ceremony announced the IPL format, prize money, franchise revenue system and squad composition rules, and that the inaugural edition would kick off from April 2008. Senior players of the time - Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble, Sourav Ganguly and V V S Laxman - had skipped the 2007 World T20 but joined different IPL franchises as their icon players.

The 12th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL 2019) will be played among eight IPL teams - Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Mumbai Indians (MI), Delhi Capitals (DC), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Rajasthan Royals (RR). IPL 2019 matches are to be played across India at venues like Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, PCA IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali, Eden Gardens in Kolkata, Feroz Shah Kotla ground in Delhi, Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad, M A Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, and Sawai Mann Singh Stadium in Jaipur.

The 2019 edition will see the Delhi franchise playing under a new name for the first time. The Delhi Daredevils team was renamed Delhi Capitals after the owner, GMR group, transferred 50 per cent of its stake to the JSW group.

IPL matches are usually played in April and May, but the start of the tournament has been advanced to March 23 this year in view of the Lok Sabha elections 2019, to be held in seven phases from April 11 to May 19, and the ICC World Cup 2019, starting in May.

In the IPL formal, each team plays another team twice at the round-robin stage - once at home and once away. After each team has played 14 round-robin matches, the top four teams qualify for the playoffs, where the top two teams play 'Qualifier 1', while the teams ranked third and fourth play the 'eliminator'. The winner of 'Qualifier 1' directly qualifies for the final, while the winner of the 'eliminator' takes on the 'Qualifier 1' loser in 'Qualifier 2'. The winner of the two qualifiers lock horns in the summit clash. Starting IPL 2018, the Umpire Decision Review System (DRS) is also being used in IPL matches, so each team gets to to seek one review of the on-field umpire's decision in each innings.

In the IPL 2019 player's auction, uncapped players like Aksdeep Nath, Varun Chakaravarthy, Prabhsimran Singh, Anmolpreet Singh, Shivam Dube were taken for huge sums, while marquee players like Brendon McCullum and Dale Steyn went unsold.

Over the past decade, Indian Premier League has proved a launch pad for several budding cricketers who have gone on to earn their national caps after superb performances in various IPL seasons. Among the prominent ones are Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Manish Pandey, Sanju Samson, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal and Ambati Rayudu.