You are here: Home » Elections » Puducherry Election » News
Business Standard

NR Congress-BJP alliance emerges victorious in Puducherry assembly polls

The NR Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and AIADMK alliance on Monday emerged victorious in Puducherry Assembly polls

Puducherry Assembly Polls | BJP | Assembly polls


Photo: Shutterstock
Photo: Shutterstock

The NR Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and AIADMK alliance on Monday emerged victorious in .

The All India NR Congress secured 10 seats, and about 25.8 per cent of the total vote share, while the won six, about 13 per cent. The AIADMK drew a blank but managed to garner 4.14 per cent of the total votes.

While independents secured six seats, the Indian National Congress, whose government collapsed before completing its five-year term under Chief Minister V Narayanasamy, managed to score two seats and 15.7 per cent of the total vote share.

The DMK, who fought the polls in alliance with Congress, secured six seats (18.5 per cent).

After the NR Congress, and AIDMK alliance crossed the simple majority mark, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Minister Amit Shah among other leaders thanked the people of the union territory.

NR Congress contested 16 seats and BJP-AIADMK contested 14 seats.

The single-phase Assembly polling in Puducherry had a voter turnout of 81.70 per cent, according to Election Commission.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Subscribe to Business Standard Premium

Exclusive Stories, Curated Newsletters, 26 years of Archives, E-paper, and more!

Insightful news, sharp views, newsletters, e-paper, and more! Unlock incisive commentary only on Business Standard.

Download the Business Standard App for latest Business News and Market News .

First Published: Mon, May 03 2021. 06:36 IST