You are here: Home » Government Press Release » News
Business Standard

KISG Boys Hockey -Odisha stun Punjab, Top Pool A, Chandigarh Top Pool B


KISG Boys Hockey -stun Punjab, Top Pool A, Top Pool B

scored an emphatic 3-0 win to top the pool A of the Boys hockey competition of the Khelo India School Games at DhyanChand Stadium New Delhi today.

Chandigarh, as expected, emerged pool B leader trouncing Karnataka 7-2 for their third straight win.

In the quarter finals on Monday will take on Delhi, face Karnataka, to play against Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh will clash with Haryana.

Punjab, were stunned by Odisha, with captain AmandeepLakra converting two penalty corners in the 14th and 34th minutes to see his side 2-0 up at the half time. In the second half Odisha attacked and defended well frustrating Punjabs every counter move.

Six minutes in this session SudeepChirmako deflected a cross from right leaving goal keeper bewildered and that made the score 3-0. s efforts to come back from there were all foiled.

Both Punjab and Odisha had won two matches and lost one each but Odisha with much better goal aggregate 18-5 as against Punjabs 14-7 emerged as the Pool leader.

In other match Haryana outplayed Rajasthan 7-3 to take the third spot in the Pool A. Rimanshu (2) Pankaj, Yogesh, Pankaj (jr), Abhimanyu and Dashminder (one each) were the scorers for Haryana, while Shivam was the lone scorer for the losers.

In Pool B Uttar Pradesh took second place as they hammered Delhi 6-1. They led 2-0 at half time. Arun Sahani, ShardaNandTiwari, Suraj Singh, AnkitPrajapati, AmitYadav and Akhtar Ali scored a goal each.

In another one-sided game outplayed Karnataka, who however, surprisingly took the lead in the fifth minutes. Four minutes later the scores were alevel as Chandigarh got their first goal.

For the winners who were up 4-1 at the break, the goal getters were Harpreet Singh (2), Mandeep, HarpantPreet Singh, Jaspreet Singh, Gundeep Singh and Vishal Rana (one each). Tharun and Majji Ganesh scored a goal each for the losers.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, February 04 2018. 00:20 IST