You are here: Home » International » News » Politics
Business Standard

Nawaz Sharif one of the richest lawmaker in Pak despite decline in fortune

Nawaz Sharif owns Toyota Land Cruiser and two Mercedes cars

Press Trust of India  |  Islamabad 

Nawaz Sharif one of the richest lawmaker in Pak despite decline in fortune

Prime Minister has retained his billionaire status with his declared assets standing at Rs 1.72 billion in 2016 despite the decline in his fortune, making him one of the richest lawmakers in the country.

Sharif continues to receive substantial amounts from his son Hussain who is doing business in Saudi Arabia despite a controversy surrounding the Panama Papers Leaks that dragged the ruling family to the courts.

According to the statements of assets of lawmakers, released by the Election Commission of (ECP) yesterday, the prime minister owned assets worth Rs 261.6 million in 2012, but that saw a six-fold increase and reached Rs 1.82 billion in 2013 - the first year of his third stint as the country's chief executive, making him a declared billionaire for the first time.

In 2014, his assets crossed the two billion-mark, but in 2015 declined slightly to Rs 1.96 billion. Earlier in 2011, he owned assets worth Rs 166 million, the Dawn reported.

The value of his assets has further declined to Rs 1.72 billion in the year that ended on June 30, 2016.

Sharif owns a Toyota Land Cruiser, gifted to him by an unspecified individual, as well as two Mercedes cars.

The house he lives in is owned by his mother and he has multiple foreign and local currency accounts, huge swathes of agricultural land and investments in industrial units such as sugar, textile and paper mills.

Sharif declared in 2015 for the first time ownership of birds and animals worth Rs 2 million, which are valued at Rs 5 million, the daily said.

The Sharif family's estate in Raiwind is priced at Rs 4 million, while his property in Lahore's Upper Mall area is said to be worth over Rs 250 million.

The prime minister is one of the richest lawmakers of the country.

First Published: Fri, June 16 2017. 15:47 IST