You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

Maharashtra: Balasaheb Thorat appointed as leader of CLP

ANI  |  Politics 

on Friday appointed Thorat as the of the Legislature Party (CLP) in Assembly, replacing Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil, who has quit the Assembly and the party.

Patil, who was of the Opposition in the Assembly, resigned as a Member of (MLA) on June 4. Before that, he had stepped down from the post of of Opposition in the Assembly in April.

In a letter to Malikarjun Kharge, in charge of Maharashtra, KC stated that the party has approved a list of members to be appointed to the posts on the floor in the and Council.

Besides Thorat, as leader of the party in the Assembly, Mohd. as and Baswaraj M. Murumkar as

The party has also appointed Agda Chandya Padvi, Sunil Chhatrapal Kedar, Jayakumar Bhagwanrao Gore, and as Whips.

In the Legislative Council, has been appointed Leader while has been appointed has been made the in the Council.

The appointments came in the wake of desertions from the in the wake of the decimation of the party in the Lok Sabha elections. The defectors are apparently headed for BJP.


(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, June 14 2019. 15:52 IST