Business Standard

Rohit Sharma shares picture suggesting he was not out in match against WI

Image

ANI Cricket
India opener Rohit Sharma shared a picture suggesting that he was not out in the match against West Indies in the cricket world cup in England on Thursday.
Rohit posted a picture on Twitter which sought to convey that the third umpire wrongly gave him out.
The 30-year-old was sent back to the pavilion in the sixth over of India's innings. The right-hander looked to have missed the ball but wicket-keeper Shai Hope appealed for caught-behind. The on-field umpire adjudged him not out but West Indies decided to review it.
The ball pitched on a good length and jagged back sharply. Rohit left a gap between bat and pad and the ball sneaked through that.
There was confusion whether the ball had hit the pad or the bat. The snick-o-meter indicated there was a clear spike and the third umpire decided to overturn the decision and rule him out.
Rohit played a knock of 18 runs and India won the match by 125 runs.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Jun 28 2019 | 3:14 PM IST

Explore News