You are here: Home » News-ANI » Sports
Business Standard

Six African teams aim to keep T20 World Cup dream alive

ANI  |  Cricket 

Six teams are set to battle it out in the ICC Men's T20 Final 2019, scheduled in Uganda, with two countries just one step away from 2020.

Botswana, Ghana, Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria, and cleared the sub-regional qualifiers last year to reach the Final. The teams will play a round-robin tournament from May 19 to 24.

Each team will play each other once and after the completion of 15 games, the top two in the table will go on to represent at the ICC Men's T20 Qualifier in the UAE later this year -- where six teams will advance to the T20 in in October 2020.

The Africa Final qualifiers will join Papua New Guinea, UAE, Hong Kong, Ireland, Netherlands, Oman, and in the which will take place between October 11 and November 3 this year. The UAE automatically qualified as hosts and PNG came through the (EAP) Final in March.

and nine other top-ranked sides -- Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and -- ensured direct qualification to the ICC Men's T20 after finishing in the top ten of the ICC Men's T20I Team Rankings as on December 31.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, May 14 2019. 13:35 IST