You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

BJP's TN rivals: Congress on 2, CPM, IUML, DMK 1 seat each

IANS  |  New Delhi 

Of the five seats in that the is contesting, it is locked with the on two and (CPM), (IUML) and DMK on one each.

The party had won lone seat of Kanniyakumari in 2014 Lok Sabha polls from where was elected. In alliance with the ruling AIADMK, the BJP's C.P Radhakrishnan is locked in a battle with C.R. Natrajan of CPI (M) from the DMK-alliance.

But the contest in is multi-cornered as the party also faces challenge from TTK Dinakaran's party candidate N.R Appadurai, Kamal Hasan's party MNM's R Mahendran and Seeman's NTK nominee S. Kalyana Sundharam.

Former minister P. Chidambaram's son is pitched against BJP's H. Raja, AMMK's V. Pandi, MNM's Kavingnar Snehan and NTK's V. Sakthi Priya.

In Ramanathapuram, the contest is between IUML's Navaskani and BJP's Nainar Nagendran with VTN Anand of AMMK, of MNM and T. Bhuwaneshwari of NTK.

is seeking re-election from Kanniyakumari from where the has fielded H. Vasanthakumar. The has given ticket to F. Lekshmenan while J Ebenezer is MNM candidate and V Jainteen is contesting from NTK.

As per the seat arrangement, the ruling is contesting 20 seats while the BJP is fighting from five seats in the state with the rest shared among MDMK, PMK and other allies.

Out of the seats being contested by AIADMK, it is facing arch rival DMK only on six seats. There is competition for DMK for other partners like MDMK and PMK in rest of the seats.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, April 17 2019. 16:20 IST