You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Heavyweights, prominent names across parties lose in Bengal

IANS  |  Kolkata 

Prominent political figures including a state minister, a former union minister, sitting MPs, as also stars from other fields across various parties fell by the wayside in the polls, that produced a number of upsets in West

Leading the list of heavyweight losers is Trinamool veteran and state Subrata Mukherjee, who first became an MLA in 1971.

He lost by over 1.74 lakh votes to BJP's Subhas Sarkar in Bankura. Trinamool had won the seat by nearly one lakh votes in 2014.

Down south in Barrackpore, former Railway lost a see-saw battle in to of the by 14,857 votes. Singh defected from Trinamool to the after the party leadership turned down his plea for being nominated as a candidate from the seat.

Former Pranab Mukherjee's son and Abhijit Mukherjee, who was seeking a hat-trick of wins from Jangipur constituency, stood third with a vote share of 19.61 per cent. Trinamool's Khalilur Rahman won the seat defeating his nearest rival BJP's Mafuja Khatun.

nominee for Ghatal constituency Bharati Ghosh, a retired cop known as an in her service life, lost to Trinamool's Deepak Adhikari (Dev), who was defending the seat.

Another BJP Rahul Sinha's bid to make it to the ended in despair as he was defeated by Trinamool's incumbent in North constituency. Sinha is also a former state of the BJP.

Trinamool veteran and party's Rajya Sabha lost to in Medinipur seat while former and lawyer-turned-politician of the CPI-M finished third at Jadavpur.

CPI-M's outgoing from Raiganj, forfeited his deposit managing only a 14.25 per cent vote share this time. Fighting from the same constituency, former Union Deepa Dasmunshi, wife of late Priya Ranjan Dasmunshi, skidded badly with just 6.55 per cent vote share.

In a stunning upset, Maldaha North sitting MP Mausam Noor, who defected from the Congress to Trinamool ahead of the elections, lost to BJP's Khagen Murmu - a former CPI-M

In Asansol, Bengali screen legend Suchitra Sen's daughter went down to sitting MP in Sen, a former Bollywood actress, had entered with a bang five years back by pulling off a stunning upset win over CPI-M veteran Basudeb Acharia in Bankura.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, May 24 2019. 21:12 IST