You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

NW Delhi is capital's swing Lok Sabha constituency

IANS  |  New Delhi 

Of the seven seats, the national capital too has its "swing" constituency -- North -- that has swung between the and the (BJP) since its creation after the delimitation in 2008.

On the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission of India, the North constituency was carved out. Reserved for the Scheduled Castes, the seat comprises 10 Assembly segments.

In 2009, officially the first election for the North constituency, of the emerged winner.

In 2014, the BJP's Udit Raj defeated the Aam Aadmi Party's Rakhi Birla by more than 1,00,000 votes. Tirath, then sitting MP, finished third.

This year, none of these names are in the fray. Though a triangular contest, political pundits reckon that it will be largely between the BJP and the on Sunday, when the constituency goes to the polls.

Udit Raj, the sitting has shifted to the Congress from the BJP, which named well known Punjabi Hans for the seat. A Padma Shri recipient, Hans started his political career with the in 2009 but quit the party in 2014. He shifted to the Congress in 2016 and the same year joined the BJP.

The Congress has nominated Rajesh Lilothia, a former member of Delhi Assembly, who is serving as the unit working

The has named Gugan Singh Ranga, a former member of He joined the in 2017.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, May 11 2019. 21:10 IST