You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

When one CM won and lost all of Rajasthan's 25 LS seats (DANGAL 2019)

IANS  |  Jaipur 

Call it an irony or sheer coincidence. has been witness to winning and losing all its 25 seats elections the two separate tenures of senior as the

He became the for the first time on July 14, 1981 and continued till Feb 23, 1985. During this time, elections were held in 1984. The emotional and sympathetic wave in favour of Indira Gandhi, who had been assassintated by her Sikh bodyguards, helped register a grand win and all the 25 seats went into the party's kitty.

However, Mathur, man who started his political career as of municipality, resigned soon after the state witnessed tensions following the slaying of an MLA,

Revenue, Labour and was immediately asked to take over as and he served from February 23, 1985 to March 10, 1985. For reasons that are not exactly clear, Devpura stepped aside and assumed office. There was however, a campaign against him and he stepped aside on January 20, 1988.

Mathur then became the were held in November under the shadow of V.P. Singh snapping ties with the on Bofors issue and joining hands with the BJP to challenge the in the polls.

Thise time around, the Congress lost all 25 seats with the BJP winning 13 seats and V.P. Singh's 11 seats. The remaining seat was captured by Shyopat Singh of the CPI-M from Bikaner.

Disheartened with this major loss, Shiv Charan Mathur quit on December 4, 1989.

There is one other coincidence here.

He was born in Madhya Pradesh's district in Nadikanugo. However, he pursued his education and work in

In the 2014 elections, the BJP under Chief Minister won all the 25 seats in Rajasthen. She was born in Gwalior, also in Rajashtan but pursued her politcal career in

(Archana Sharma can be contacted at



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, March 13 2019. 13:16 IST