You are here: Home » Politics » News » East
Business Standard

Two candidates each of Shiv Sena, NCP, and 4 of BJP win Maha Council polls

Both candidates of the Shiv Sena Sachin Ahir and Aamshya Padavi won the election, while the two nominees of the Congress failed to secure the minimum quota of the first preference vote.

Maharashtra | Shiv Sena | BJP

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

Shiv Sena's Sachin Ahir
Shiv Sena candidate Sachin Ahir.

Two candidates each of the ruling coalition allies and the and four nominees of the opposition on Monday nigh won to the (MLC), said an official.

All the eight candidates secured the minimum quota of 26 votes each to make it to the Upper House of the state legislature, said the official. Chairman of and candidate Ramraje Nimbalkar, Leader of Opposition in the Upper House Pravin Darekar of the and former minister and now nominee Eknath Khadse easily bagged sufficient number of first preference votes to post wins.

The final vote tally will be announced when all the rounds of counting is over, the official said. Both the candidates of the -- Sachin Ahir and Aamshya Padavi - also won the election, while the two nominees of the Congress, which is part of the ruling coalition MVA,

failed to secure the minimum quota of the first preference vote. The BJP had fielded five candidates - Darekar, Ram Shinde, Uma Khapre, Shrikant Bharatiya and Prasad Lad - of which the first four have already bagged the minimum quota of votes required to win the poll. Atul Bhatkhalkar, an MLA of the BJP said, "Darekar secured 29 votes of first preference, while Ram Shinde and Bharatiya secured 30 votes of first preference each. It means, our excess votes of top three candidates on the list will be transferred to our fifth candidate Prasad Lad." "If you count all the votes of first preference to the BJP candidates, we have won 133 votes. It means, we have won more votes than we secured in the Rajya Sabha (held on June 10)," he said. The BJP has 106 MLAs in the Legislative Assembly, while remaining votes for its candidates have either come from independent MLAs, or those from small parties or from other parties.

Voting for the to 10 vacant MLC seats was held between 9 am and 4 pm at the Legislature Complex in south Mumbai. In all, 11 candidates - five of the BJP and two each of the Sena, the NCP and the were in the fray. The counting of votes began after a two-hour delay at around 7 pm.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Mon, June 20 2022. 23:26 IST