You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Congress draws a blank in 18 states and Union territories

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

The has drawn a blank in 18 states and Union Territories -- an indicator of its decimation in the polls.

This is the Congress' second straight rout in elections after it was decimated in the 2014 polls when the party ended up with a tally of 44 seats.

The has been completely routed in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Chandigarh, Dadar and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Delhi, Rajasthan, Sikkim, and Uttarakhand.

Training his guns on the Congress, BJP on Thursday said the grand old party had drawn a "big zero" in 17 states and Union Territories, while the saffron party got more than 50 per cent votes in 17 states.

Murmurs have already started within the party over taking responsibility for its poor performance across the country, with some of its leaders already sending in their resignation.

Uttar Pradesh and Odisha Congress announced their resignation in the wake of the party's electoral debacle in their respective states.

According to sources, the party has convened a meeting of the Congress Working Committee, its highest decision making body, at 11 am on Saturday.

is likely to offer his resignation at the meet, party sources said.

The top Congress leadership will deliberate on the reasons for the loss and assess them. It bagged only 52 seats in this election.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, May 24 2019. 16:40 IST