You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

CPI(M) to contest Kokrajhar, Lakhimpur constituencies in Assam

Press Trust of India  |  Guwahati 

The opposition CPI(M) on Thursday said it will contest in and constituencies out of the 14 seats during the elections in

The party also declared the names of the candidates for the two constituencies.

CPI(M) Committee said it will support the "strongest" secular candidates in other constituencies in order to defeat the BJP and its "communal" allies in the state.

In order to prevent division of anti-BJP votes, the party decided to contest only in two seats this time, he added.

will contest from the seat, while retired college teacher and social activist will be in the fray from Lakhimpur, Bhattacharyya said.

The constituency has a total of 16.81 lakh voters, including 8.25 lakh women, polling for which will take place on April 11, during the first phase.

The constituency, reserved for Scheduled Tribe candidates, has 17.49 lakh voters, including 8.56 lakh women electorate. Polling for the seat will be held in the third phase on April 23.

consists of nine assembly constituencies, while Kokrajhar comprises 10 assembly seats, of which seven fall under the Bodoland Territorial Area Districts (BTAD).

During the 2014 elections, the CPI(M) had contested from Barpeta, Tezpur and Silchar seats and lost all of them.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, March 14 2019. 19:10 IST