You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

GTB Hockey: Indian Oil, SCR score 2nd straight win

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

Former champions Indian Oil, and South (SCR), Secundrabad today posted their second successive wins and are virtually through to the semi-finals of the 13th PMC Bank-Guru Tegh Bahadur Gold Cup All Hockey Tournament.

In a Pool-B match played in the afternoon, Indian scored a 4-2 win against MHAL President's XI. Later in the evening, SCR produced another slick combined performance to overcome Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL) 3-1 in a Pool-A match played here.

Indian had defeated Central Railway, 7-1 on Tuesday, while SCR beat Indian Navy 3-1 in their opening match on Monday.

Both Indian and SCR top their respective pools with six points each.

MHAL President's XI and have lost both their matches so far and are out of contention of making the semis.

had lost to Police 0-1 on Tuesday, while President's XI were beaten 3-1 by Army XI on the opening day.

SCR showed good coordination to launch a number of sorties at the rival citadel and dominated play.

First Gagandeep Singh scored through a penalty corner in the ninth minute and two minutes later Mayank James slotted home from a neat combined move to take a 2-0 cushion.

hit back when lad Devinder Walmiki sounded the boards in the 17th minute.

But the Secundrabad outfit continued to hold the upper hand and after a couple of close misses, they added the third goal when James deflected home Poonacha's firm hit into the striking circle in the 63rd minute to secure the win.

Earlier, Indian Oil skipper Deepak Thakur scored a field goal in the second minute. MHAL managed to draw level when Nikhil Pardeshi converted a penalty corner in the eighth minute.

But seven minutes later, Indian Oil regained the lead through Sunil Yadav's penalty corner conversion and they went into the break with a slender 2-1 lead.

Indian Oil added the third through drag-flicker Gagandeep Singh's penalty corner in the 45th minute. The President outfit reduced the deficit when Mayur Patil scored from a field effort in the 65th minute before Indian Oil once again hit the target through Sukhjeet Singh in the 68th minute to complete their win.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, September 13 2017. 19:22 IST