You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

K'taka polls: Cong releases first list of candidates, Siddaramaiah to contest from Chamundeshwari

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

The today released its first list of 218 candidates for the May 12 Assembly elections, fielding Chief from Chamundeshwari and state G from Korategere.

The party has not applied the "one-family, one-ticket" formula for the polls as it granted tickets to the chief and his son, the Home and his daughter, and the and his son.

The had followed this rule in the polls held last year.

Sources said that while the party has dropped 12 sitting MLAs, all the ministers were given a ticket.

The first list includes 15 women candidates and the names of the seven former JD-S and two ex-BJP legislators who joined the party earlier this year.

The chief minister's son, Yatheendra, was fielded by the from the constituency (Mysore), while will contest the polls from BTM and his daughter Soumya R from the constituency (Bengaluru).

T B Jayachandra's son was given a ticket from the seat (Tumkur).

Senior Congress leader's son was given a ticket and he will contest the polls from the Chitapur (Reserved) seat in district.

The party said it has left the seat (AC-188), for Raitha Sangha's candidate, who will contest in alliance with the Congress.

Sitting MLAs who were denied a ticket include Basavaraj Shivannavar from Badgy, Manohar Tehsildar from Hangal, Shiv Moorti Nayak from Mycunda, Turuverevere from Shriniwas and Sharabsherry from Tiptur.

Former BJP MLAs and Anand Singh, who joined the Congress, and former JD-S MLAs Zamir Ahmed Khan, Chelluvar Ayyasamy, Iqbal Ansari, Akhanda Srinivas Moorthi, Blakrishna, and were also given tickets.

The Congress is yet to announce its candidates for the Sindagi, Kittur, Nagathana, Melukote, Raichur and Shantinagar assembly seats.

Among the fresh faces fielded by the party are Samath Raj, Anjali Nimbalkar, G Padmavati, Roopa Shashidhar, H S Manjunath, K Fatima, Madhu Madhe Gouda, MD Laxminarayan Vani, Krishna Reddy, Keertana Rudresh Gowda. B Suresh Siddhaiah, B Manjugowda and AL Pushpa.

CONG-KA-LISTCONG-KA-LISTThe results of the election to the 224-seat will be out on May 15.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, April 15 2018. 23:20 IST