Business Standard

Mike Figgis to head Busan Film Festival jury


Press Trust of India Los Angeles
Oscar-nominated British filmmaker is set to head the New Currents Competition section jury at the Busan International Film Festival (BIFF).
The director will be joined on the jury by Karel Och, artistic director of the Karlovy Vary IFF; Samal Yeslyamova, the winner of the best actress award at Cannes last year for "Ayka"; Lee Sinje, the first Malaysian awardee of the best actress award at the Golden Horse Awards in 2002 for "The Eye"; and Korean sales agent and producer Suh Youngjoo, CEO of Finecut.
According to Variety, the jury will select two films which will each receive USD 30,000 as prize money.
The festival also announced the jury for its Kim Ji-Seok award, which was established in 2017 "to encourage and discover the growth and new talents of Asian cinema". The award was created in honour of the late Kim Ji-Seok, the Busan executive programmer who died of a heart attack at Cannes in 2017.
The jury will comprise of Iranian director Mohsen Makhmalbaf, Busan programer Huh Moonyung and Tan Chui Mui, the winner of the New Currents award for Love Conquers All at the 11th Busan festival in 2006.
They will select two films which will receive USD 10,000 each as prize money.
BIFF runs from October 3 to October 12.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Aug 30 2019 | 11:30 AM IST

Explore News