You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Phase 2 polls in UP to decide fate of Raj Babbar, Hema Malini

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

Uttar Pradesh and another are among the candidates whose fate will be decided in the second phase of elections in the state on Thursday.

Polling will be held in Nagina (SC), Amroha, Bulandshahr (SC), Aligarh, Hathras (SC), Fatehpur Sikri, and (SC).

will see a triangular battle between Babbar, BJP's Rajkumar Chahar and BSP's Shreebhagwan Sharma, who is a two-time MLA from Debai assembly constituency of Bulandshahr.

While in the temple-town constituency of Mathura, Bollywood "dream girl" of yesteryears, Hema Malini, is seeking re-election after winning the seat in the 2014

The other candidates in the fray are Kunwar Narendra Singh of the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) and of the

In Amroha, sitting Tanwar will lock horns with Bahujan Samaj Party's Kunwar Danish Al, who recently joined the party after quitting as the of the Janata Dal-Secular.

The eight seats were bagged by the ruling in 2014. This time it faces a tough fight from the SP-BSP-RLD alliance.

In this phase, the BSP has fielded candidates for six of the eight constituencies -- Nagina, Amroha, Bulandshahr, Aligarh, and The SP and the RLD have fielded one candidate each from Hathras and respectively.

Apart from and Tanwar, the BJP has retained three other MPs - (Nagina), (Bulandshahr) and

The has set up 16,162 polling booths in 8,751 polling centres for this phase in the state. There are 85 candidates in the fray for the eight seats, with 15 of them, the highest number, in Fatehpuri Sikri.

In Agra, UP animal husbandry, minor irrigation and fisheries S P Singh Baghel (BJP) will take on Preeta Harit of the and of the BSP.

In Aligarh, the fight is between Gautam (BJP), Ajeet Baliyan (BSP) and Bijendra Singh (Congress) while in Hathras, Rajvir Diler of the BJP will take on Ramji Lal Suman of the and Triloki Ram of the Congress.

In Bulandshahr, the contest figures (BJP), Yogesh Verma (BSP) and Banshi Singh (Congress).

The Nagina constituency will see Singh defending his turf against of the Congress and Girish Chandra of the BSP.

While Singh is a former SP leader, Devi has been with all the four principal parties in the state - SP, BSP, BJP and Congress - at different times of her political career.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, April 17 2019. 18:50 IST