You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Rawat to lead Delhi football team in Santosh Trophy

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Defender Abhishek Rawat will lead a 20-member football team in the final round of the 69th Senior National Football Championship for Santosh Trophy to be held at and from March 1 to 15.

Mid-fielder Ashu Nathani has been named as vice-captain of the team which was picked by Soccer Association selection committee headed by Sharafatullah after a 15-day selection-cum-coaching camp.

The 10 teams taking part in the final round of the Championship have been divided in two groups of five each. Group A (to be played at Ludhiana) has Assam, Punjab, Maharashtra, Services and while Group B (to be played at Jalandhar) has Delhi, Railways, Kerala, and Mizoram.

open their campaign against while hosts take on in the inaugural matches scheduled on March 1.

The Team:

Goalkeepers: Vikrant Sharma, Bisht, Rakshit.

Defenders: Abhishek Rawat (captain), Pawan Joshi, Pushpender Kundu, Sonu, Vijay Kumar, Anil Bara, Sumit Rawat, Vikas Rawat.

Mid-fielders: Ashu Nathani (vice-captain), Monu Chowdhery, Dheeraj Jangpangji, Ankit Sharma, Dilsher Singh Sandhu.

Forwards: Abhay Rana, Atinder Mani, Mahinder Singh, John Shain.

First Published: Thu, February 26 2015. 18:28 IST