You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Uttarakhand to get three new municipal corporations

Press Trust of India  |  Dehradun 

Making the announcement here Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna said the parameter of at least 1.25 lakh population in a town for having a municipal corporation of its own has been amended and reduced to one lakh to facilitate creation of these new municipal corporations.

He said it will speed up development and create better facilities for people.

As per the new parameter, Roorkee in Haridwar district and Kashipur and Rudrapur in Udhamsingh Nagar district will be granted the status of municipal corporations, Bahuguna said.

Ever since Haridwar and Haldwani were granted the status of municipal corporations by the previous government, demands were being made for creation of municipal corporations in Roorkee and Kashipur.

After implementation of the Chief Minister's announcement the total number of municipal corporations in Uttarakhand will rise to six.

Before the creation of Haldwani and Haridwar municipal corporations, Dehradun was the state's only municipal corporation.

First Published: Mon, January 28 2013. 14:55 IST