You are here: Home » Sports » India Australia Series » News

IND vs AUS 1st T20 highlights: Chahal, Natarajan helps India win by 11 runs

While Jadeja smashed an unbeaten 44 off 23 balls to propel India to 161 for 7, his head injury turned out to be a blessing in disguise with India unleashing Chahal (3/25 in 4 overs) on an Australian

India vs Australia | India cricket team | Australia cricket team

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


turned out to be the perfect concussion substitute after an injured did his part with the bat as the duo played their roles to perfection in India's impressive 11-run victory over Australia in the first T20 International of three-match series at Manuka Oval, Canberra, on Friday.


While Jadeja smashed an unbeaten 44 off 23 balls to propel India to 161 for 7, his head injury turned out to be a blessing in disguise with India unleashing Chahal (3/25 in 4 overs) on an Australian side caught completely off-guard. The hosts could manage only 150 for 7 in 20 overs.

Check India-Australia series latest news updates here

Credit was also due to the lion-hearted effort from debutant Thangarasu Natarajan (3/30) and off-spinner Washington Sundar (0/16 in 4 overs), who bowled well in Powerplay.

ICC match referee David Boon allowed the visitors a "like for like" replacement, as mandated by the rules, for Jadeja in Chahal even though home team coach Justin Langer looked visibly angry.

And to make matters worse, Chahal dimissed two form men -- (35) and Steve Smith (12) -- in his first two overs to turn the game on its head.

The Australians were not prepared for Chahal, who bowled way better in his most preferred format, varying the pace of his deliveries and using the flight to good effect.

Natarajan, whose nerves had eased after a decent ODI debut, was right on the money and got one to straighten catching plumb in-front.

If that wasn't enough, Natarajan snuffed out a frustrated D'arcy Short (34 off 38 balls) to make it 113 for 4 and India didn't have to look back from then on.

IND vs AUS 1st T20 full scorecard: Australian innings

Batsman Dismissals Runs Balls Fours Sixes
D' Arcy Short c Hardik b Natarajan 34 38 3 0
Aaron Finch c Pandya b Chahal 35 26 5 1
Steve Smith c Samson b Chahal 12 9 0 1
Glenn Maxwell lbw b Natarajan 2 3 0 0
Moses Henriques lbw b Chahar 27 17 1 1
Mathew Wade c Kohli b Chahal 7 9 0 0
Sean Abbott not out 12 8 0 1
Mitchell Starc b Natarajan 1 2 0 0
Mitchell Swepson not out 12 5 1 1
Total: 150-7 in 20 Overs
Bowlers Overs Maiden Runs Wickets
Deepak Chahar 4 0 29 1
Washington Sundar 4 0 16 0
Mohammed Shami 4 0 46 0
T Natarajan 4 0 30 3
(sub) 4 0 25 3

Earlier, vice-captain continued his impressive run in the shortest format with yet another fifty but it took Jadeja's brilliant back-end flourish to take India to a fighting total.

The Indian vice-captain hit 51 off 40 balls but leg-spinner (1/20 in 4 overs) and all-rounder Moises Henriques (3/22 in 4 overs) were brilliant between overs 11th and 15th, which shifted the momentum in favour of the home team till Jadeja came into play with a 44 not out off 23 balls.

During 11th and 15th over, India scored 22 runs and lost three wickets in Sanju Samson (23 off 15 balls), (2 off 8 balls) and Rahul.

However, Jadeja (five fours and a six), who suffered from hamstring trouble, launched into Josh Hazlewood and in the final two overs that yielded 34 runs taking Indian to a par-score at the Manuka Oval.

The Indians found Zampa difficult to get away as he conceded only one boundary while Henriques conceded just a six, cleverly varying the pace of his deliveries with a good mix of cutters and seam-up stuff.

Rahul, who hit five fours and a six, along with Samson and the dangerous (16 off 15 balls) were deceived by the pace of pitch where driving on the up wasn't an easy job.

(2/34) was also quick and incisive at the start but got hit during the death overs.

Four days of rest had done Starc a world of good as he found both his length and swing back at the start. At a scorching 145 clicks, he bowled one that shaped away from starting on middle-stump and knocking the off-stump back.

1st T20 full scorecard: Indian innings

Batsman Dismissals Runs Balls Fours Sixes
KL Rahul c Abbott b Henriques 51 40 5 1
Shikhar Dhawan b Starc 1 6 0 0
Virat Kohli c & b Swepson 9 9 1 0
Sanju Samson c Swepson b Henriques 23 15 1 1
Manish Pandey c Hazlewood b Zampa 2 7 0 0
Hardik Pandya c Smith b Henriques 16 15 0 1
Ravindra Jadeja not out 44 23 5 1
Washington Sundar c Abbott b Starc 7 5 1 0
Deepak Chahar not out 0 0 0 0
Total: 161-7 in 20 Overs
Bowler Overs Maiden Runs Wickets
Mitchell Starc 4 0 34 2
Josh Hazlewood 4 0 39 0
Adam Zampa 4 0 20 1
Sean Abbott 2 0 23 0
Mitchell Swepson 2 0 21 1
Moses Henriques 4 0 22 3

1st T20I playing 11

Both India and Australia have made quite a few changes in their playing 11 from the 3rd ODI here. For India, Manish pandey, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar and are the changes in the playing 11 while Australia has made four changes.

India playing 11:  Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul(w), Virat Kohli(c), Manish Pandey, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Shami, T Natarajan. (concussion substitute)

Australia playing 11:  D Arcy Short, Aaron Finch(c), Matthew Wade(w), Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Swepson, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood
How to watch AUS vs IND T20 live match free
Stay tuned for highlights…


Auto Refresh