You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News » National
Business Standard

Telangana polls: TRS on course to retaining power if initial trends hold

The Congress, which forged an opposition alliance with the Telugu Desam Party, the Telangana Jana Samiti, and the CPI, is heading for a heavy defeat, according to initial trends

Telangana  |  Trs  |  Telugu Desam Party

Press Trust of India  |  Hyderabad 

chandrashekhar rao, kcr, mamata banerjee, third front, 3rd front
Telangana chief minister K Chandrasekhara Rao and West Bengal chief minister

The was on course to return to power with a thumping majority in if the initial trends hold, with party candidates leading in 92 out of the total 119 assembly constituencies.

chief K (Gajwel), his son K T Rama Rao (Sircilla) and nephew T (Siddipet) have established handsome leads, as the party's gamble to go in for early elections seems to be paying off.

KCR, as the caretaker chief minister is referred to by many, is leading by 9,212 votes over his nearest rival Vanteru Pratap Reddy.

Rama Rao was ahead of K K Mahender Reddy (Congress) by by 15,096 votes.

was leading by 19,989 votes over his nearest TJS nominee Bhavani Reddy.

Several of KCR's cabinet colleagues were leading in their constituencies.

"This was expected because the people have accepted the (welfare) schemes (initiated by the government)...the infrastructure that has been built....24-hour power supply and timely pensions," floor in the Lok Sabha, A P Jithender Reddy told

The Congress, which forged an opposition alliance with the Telugu Desam Party, the Jana Samiti, and the CPI, is heading for a heavy defeat, according to initial trends.

The Rahul Gandhi-led party is ahead in only 16 segments, while the TDP headed by the Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu was leading in just two.

The BJP, which had won five seats in alliance with the TDP in the previous elections in 2014, went alone this time and was leading in two constituencies.

K Laxman was trailing his TRS rival M Gopal in Musheerabad seat in by 2710 votes.

The AIMIM led by Lok Sabha member Asaduddin Owaisi that won seven seats in 2014 was leading in five.

Party and Owaisi's younger brother Akbaruddin Owaisi was leading by over 34,OOO votes over his nearest rival Esa Bin Obaid Misri in Chandrayangutta.

Telangana state chief N Uttam Kumar Reddy is leading in Huzurnagar constituency by 1,852 votes over his nearest rival Saidi Reddy of TRS after the third round.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Tue, December 11 2018. 11:45 IST