You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

TDP leaders opt out of race to make way for successors (Dangal 2019)

IANS  |  Amaravati 

The younger generation is all set to take up the mantle in as ministers and senior leaders of ruling (TDP) have opted out of electoral race to make way for their political successors.

and TDP President is perhaps the only exception as he and his son both figure in the list of 126 candidates announced by the party late on Thursday for Assembly elections in April.

Deputy Chief K.E. Krishnamurthy, a in district, decided against contesting to pave way for his son from Pathikonda constituency, a family stronghold.

Paritala Sunitha, another key in Naidu's cabinet, opted out of the race to get a ticket for her son from Rapthadu, considered a bastion of Paritala family in district.

In district, and former minister Bojjala Gopala Krishna Reddy's son will be the party candidate from Srikalahasti. was elected from here for five terms.

Gouthu Syam Sunder Sivaji gave up his Palasa constituency in district in favour of his daughter

Naidu accepted the request of senior leader to field his daughter from Vijayawada West.

Kidari Sravan Kumar, whose father and TDP MLA Kidari Sarveshwara Rao was gunned down by Maoists a few months ago, got TDP ticket from Araku. Sravan was inducted into the cabinet after the killing of his father.

Kimidi Nagarjuna will contest from Cheepurapalle constituency as the political successor of his mother Kimidi Mrunalini, a sitting

Naidu has also fielded late K. Yerran Naidu's daughter from Yerran Naidu's son is a from and is likely to be fielded again. Yerran Naidu's brother is a

The has also given tickets to sons of senior leader and former minister Muddukrishnama Naidu died in 2018 while Nehru died in 2017.

The ruling party has kept the names for 49 Assembly constituencies pending. The was busy holding consultations with party leaders and aspirants to finalise the names.

The party is also yet to announce candidates for Lok Sabha elections. Polling for the 175-member Assembly and all 25 Lok Sabha seats is scheduled on April 11.

Among the 126 candidates announced, the party has retained 83 MLAs. While 14 MLAs who had crossed over from opposition YSR have been fielded, three have been denied tickets.

The list includes 15 women.

Among 72 candidates from Other Castes (OCs), as many as 32 are kammas, a politically dominant community to which Chandrababu Naidu belongs. There are 30 candidates from backward classes, 18 from scheduled castes, four from scheduled tribes and two Muslims.

(can be contacted at



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, March 15 2019. 13:40 IST