You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

All 13 candidates set to get elected unopposed to UP legislative council

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

All 13 candidates, including two ministers, who filed nominations for as many vacant Legislative Council seats are set to sail through unopposed as their nomination papers were found valid during scrutiny today, an said.

"As many as 13 candidates had filed their nomination papers for 13 seats. The nomination papers of all the candidates were found valid during scrutiny," returning said.

However, an declaration of the results will be made after 3 pm on April 19, the last date of withdrawal of candidature, officials said.

While the and the have fielded one candidate each, the ruling BJP has put up 10 candidates, including two UP ministers and BJP ally (S) is contesting one seat.

The has fielded its state unit Naresh Uttam, while the has nominated BR Ambedkar, who lost in the recent Rajya Sabha polls.

The saffron party has also rewarded some turncoats, who had resigned from the Legislative Council last year to facilitate the entry of Chief Yogi Adityanath, his two deputies and two other cabinet colleagues into the of the state Legislature.

Apart from the two state ministers, the other BJP candidates are Sarojini Agarwal, Bukkal Nawab, Yashwant Singh, Jaiveer Singh, Vidhyasagar Sonkar, Vijay Bahadur Pathak, and

Kataria, Sonkar and Pathak are general secretaries of the state BJP unit, while Dhawan, a former MLC, hails from

(Sonelal) has announced as its candidate.

In September last year, Adityanath, his two deputies and two ministers were declared elected unopposed to the state Legislative Council.

The chief had filed his nomination for the seat vacated by then member Yashwant Singh, while Deputy Chief had filed his papers for the seat held by member Bukkal Nawab. Their term was to expire in July, 2022.

Deputy had filed his nomination for the seat vacated by and for the seat vacated by then SP member Sarojni Agarwal. Their term was to expire in January, 2021.

Raza, the only Muslim minister in the Adityanath cabinet, had filed his nomination for the seat vacated by member Thakur Bajpai was recently rewarded with a Rajya Sabha seat from UP.

The SP, headed by Akhilesh Yadav, had initially fielded two candidates, but withdrew one of them, paving the way for to bag one seat following her support to the SPin the bypolls to the Gorakhpur and Phulpur seats.

In the 100-member Legislative Council, the BJP has only 13 representatives, the SP 61, the BSP nine, the two, the RLD one and others 12. Two seats are vacant.

According to the (EC), the tenure of 13 MLCs, including SP national and two ministers in the -- and -- will end on May 5.

Of the 13 seats falling vacant, seven were held by the SP, two each by the BJP and the BSP and one by the RLD. The 13th seat, which was held by former SP minister Ambika Chaudhary, fell vacant when he switched over to the BSP.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, April 17 2018. 17:30 IST