You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Deshpande, Mandhana among Maha state sports award winners

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

The government has bestowed the 'Shiv Lifetime Achievement Award' on Uday for 2017-18.

An announcement to this effect was made by the state at a here where he also declared the other award winners.

"The (Shiv Chhatrapati) lifetime achievement award is being conferred upon Uday of Samarth Vyayam Mandir, who has dedicated his life for mallakhamb," Tawde said.

has been promoting and coaching mallakhamb, a traditional Indian sport dating back to the 12th century where the practitioner performs gymnastic and yoga postures with wrestling grips on an erect pole or a suspended rope, at the 'Samarth Vyayam Mandir' at Shivaji Park in Central

The names of the Shiv award winners in the players' category also include Indian women's team member Smriti Mandhana, who hails from Sangli in western

Tawde also announced that these awards will be given away at the iconic 'Gateway of India' on February 17 during a glittering ceremony.

Among the other award recipients are player Suraj Karkera, paddler Sanil Shetty, Siddhant Thingaliya, who specialises in 110 metres hurdles, and player

The also announced that Satara's mountaineer Priyanka Mohite, who has scaled the and the among other peaks, will be awarded the 'Shiv Award for Adventure'.

The will also be giving 'Eklavya State Awards' for physically handicapped players and 'Shiv Chhatrapati' awards for associations and coaches.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, February 13 2019. 15:51 IST