Business Standard

DMK member sworn in as MLA in Pondy


Press Trust of India Puducherry
A DMK member, who won the recently held bypoll to Thattanchavady constituency, was sworn in as member of the Puducherry assembly, at a function here Wednesday.
Officiating Speaker V P Sivakolundhu administered the oath of office to K Venkatesan.
Among those who witnessed the ceremony included the AICC Secretary Sanjay Dutt, Chief Minister V Narayanasamy, leaders of the Congress, the DMK and other alliance parties.
Venkatesan defeated the AINRC candidate P Neduncheziane in the by-poll.
The by-election was necessitated after the sitting MLA Ashok Anand (AINRC) was disqualified following his conviction by a local CBI court in the disproportionate assets case in October last year.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: May 29 2019 | 3:30 PM IST

Explore News