Business Standard

Nine candidates in fray for 2 Lok Sabha seats in Meghalaya


Press Trust of India Shillong
Nine candidates are in the fray for the two Lok Sabha seats in Meghalaya, after two withdrew their nomination on Thursday, the last date for withdrawal of candidature, Chief Electoral Officer F R Kharkongor said.
Two candidates Kenedy Khyriem and Justice Kharbasanti withdrew their nomination from the Shillong Lok Sabha seat, Kharkongor said.
Six candidates in the fray for the Shillong constituency are Vincent Pal of Congress, United Democratic Party's Jemino Mawthoh, BJP's Sanbor Shullai and three Independents T H S Bonney, Samuel Hashah and Romeo Phira Rani.
The three candidates in the Tura Lok Sabha seat are Agatha Sangma of ruling NPP, Mukul Sangma of Congress and BJP's Rikman G Momin.
Elections to the two Lok Sabha seats in Meghalaya will be held on April 11.
The chief electoral officer said five and three general observers for Shillong and Tura respectively has arrived apart from a police observer for both the constituencies in Meghalaya.
Two expenditure observers for each of the constituencies has also arrived, Kharkongor added.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Mar 28 2019 | 8:06 PM IST

Explore News