You are here: Home » Specials » News
Business Standard

Ninety New Castes Added To Central List Of The Obcs


The Union Cabinet this evening approved additions, amendments and new entries of about 90 castes and communities in the Central List of the Other Backward Classes (OBCs).

The new entries made on the basis of the recommendations of the National Commission of Backward Classes covers 17 States including two Union Territories.

Briefing newspersons soon after the Cabinet meeting chaired by the Prime Minister Atal Behari Vajpayee, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pramod Mahajan said the new additions and changes in the list are in addition to similar 242 changes made in the OBC list earlier last year.

The new additions will enable these castes/communities to get various benefits such as reservation in the direct recruitment of Civil Services and other posts under the Central Government.

The eligible persons from these groups will also become eligible for financial assistance from the National Backward Classes Finance and Development Corporation in respect of skill development and self-employment projects.

The States/ UTs covered under the new OBC dispensation are: Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Delhi, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Pondicherry, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

Mr Mahajan clarified that the Government had ensured that no caste/community proposed to be included in the OBC list finds a place in the list of the SC/ST for the same area.

In another decision, the Cabinet approved the grant of relief to Displaced Persons (Non-camp) from Chhamb-Niabat area of Jammu and Kashmir,as recommended by a Committee constituted by the Centre to look into the problems of the persons from Pak-occupied Kashmir. Mr Mahajan indicated that the move was aimed at providing relief to non-camp displaced persons from Chhamb-Niabat area,uprooted due to the Indo-Pak war of 1971.

First Published: Fri, March 17 2000. 00:00 IST