Business Standard

Yogi Adiyanath bans pan, gutka in UP offices, allocates portfolios

Adityanath was elected leader of Bharatiya Janata Party legislative party on Saturday

IANS  |  Lucknow 

Yogi Adityanath
Yogi Adityanath during the oath-taking ceremony in Lucknow. Photo: PTI

Chief Minister on Wednesday banned chewing of 'paan' (beetal leaves), and consumption of and its products in all state offices, hospitals and educational institutions and directed for ban on use of polythene.

The Chief Minister also allocated to his ministerial colleagues, keeping several key departments like home, revenue, mining and jails with him.

Adiyanath inspected the Shastri Bhavan (annexe) here during his first full working day here after taking oath as the Chief Minister on Sunday. He inspected various floors and sections of the building to get a first-hand account of cleanliness and work ethos.

According to an official release, Adityanath gave a stern message that "old work style and lax attitude towards work" will not be tolerated and stringent action taken against those found wanting in discharge of their duties.

Adityanath asked Chief Secretary Rahul Bhatnagar to ensure a proper system for upkeep, maintenance of files and records within a week and to ensure cleanliness in the Shastri Bhavan premises within the period.

He hoped that similar mechanism will be adopted in subordinate offices and noted that departmental presentations and reviews will be conducted in the fifth-floor conference room between 6 p.m. and 10 p.m.

The BJP Chief Minister asked the Chief Secretary to fix a time table for presentations and review meetings and said the meeting room should be properly maintained.

Noting that cleanliness pledges should not remain mere formalities and officials need to set an example for others to emulate, Adiyanath laid emphasis on cleanliness and called upon officials to encourage their subordinates to maintain it.

The Chief Minister said he will continue to conduct inspections to ensure his directions were complied with.

Expressing displeasure at wires dangling in the office, Adiyanath called for immediate steps for improvement. He said clean environment in offices will lead to enhanced productivity and also stressed on the need to work with a team spirit.

The release said the Chief Minister instructed that reverse osmosis water system should run properly and ordered verification of firefighting systems installed in the building.

Expressing displeasure over some files gathering dust in the corridors, he stressed on the need for their proper upkeep and maintenance.

Those present during the inspection included Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya and senior state officials.

During the day, Adiyanath also allocated to 22 Cabinet Ministers, nine Ministers of State (Independent Charge) and 13 Ministers of State.

Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prashad Maurya has been given the of public works, food processing, entertainment tax and public enterprises.

Deputy Chief Minister Dinesh Sharma has been given secondary and higher education, science and technology, electronics and information technology.

Apart from home and revenue, the Chief Minister's portfolios include housing and urban planning, food and civil supplies, mining, jails, appointments, information, institutional finance, planning, general administration, vigilance, administrative reforms, national integration, personnel, election, public service management, consumer protection, measurement, help and rehabilitation, language, flood control, economy, and statistics.

The portfolios allotted to the Cabinet Ministers are:

Siddharth Nath Singh -- medical and health; and Rajesh Aggarwal -- finance.

Others are Surya Pratap Shahi - agriculture, agriculture education and agriculture research; Suresh Khanna - parliamentary affairs, urban development; Swami Prasad Maurya - labour, urban employment and poverty alleviation; Satish Mahana - industrial development; Rita Bahuguna Joshi - women and family welfare, tourism; Dara Singh Chauhan - forest and environment; Dharampal Singh - irrigation; S.P. Singh Baghel - micro irrigation, fishries, livestock; Satyadev Pachauri - Khadi, micro, small and medium enterprises and export promotion; Ramapati Shashtri - social and SC/ST welfare; Jai Prakash Singh - excise and prohibition; Om Prakash Rajbhar - backward welfare; Brajesh Pathak - law and justice; Laxmi Narayan Choudhary - minority welfare, culture; Chetan Chauhan - sports and youth welfare, skill development; Shrikant Sharma - energy; Rajendra Pratap Singh - rural engineering service; Mukut Bihari Verma - cooperative; Ashutosh Tondon - medical education; and Nand Kumar Nandi - civil aviation, registration.

The portfolios allotted to Ministers of State (Independent Charge):

Anupma Jaiswal - basic education, child development and nutrition; Suresh Rana - sugercane development and sugar mills; Upendra Tiwari - land development and water resources; Mahendra Singh - rural development; Swatantra Dev Singh - transport and protocol; Bhupendra Singh Chaudhary - panchayati raj; Dharam Singh Saini - ayush and rehabilitation; Anil Rajbhar - soldier welfare, homeguards; Swati Singh - NRI, agriculture marketing.

The portfolios of the Ministers of State:

Gulabo Devi - social welfare, SC/ST welfare; Jai Prakash Nishadh - fishries, livestock, state propery; Archana Pandey - mining, excise and prohibition; Jai Kumar Singh - jails, public service management; Atul Garg - food and civil supplies, consumer protection; Ranvendra Pratap Singh - agriculture; Neelkanth Tiwari - law and justice, information and sports; Mohsin Raza - Muslim waqf and haj, science and technology; Girish Yadav - rehabilitation, urban development; Baldev Aulakh - minority welfare, agriculture; Mannu Kori - labour service scheme; Sandeep Singh - basic, secondary, higher, technical and medical education; Suresh Pasi - housing, vocation education, skill.

Adityanath was elected leader of Bharatiya Janata Party legislative party on Saturday after the party's massive victory in the assembly polls.


First Published: Thu, March 23 2017. 10:17 IST