You are here: Home » Elections » Bihar Elections » News
Business Standard

With NDA leading in Bihar, BJP supporters start celebration in Patna

The Mahagathbandhan is ahead on 102 seats -- the RJD 66, Congress 18, and Left parties 18

Bihar Elections  | Bihar Assembly  | Assembly elections

ANI  |  Politics 

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar
FILE PIC: Bihar CM Nitish Kumar during a rally

With the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) leading on 127 seats in Bihar, as per the Election Commission (EC) trends till 4.30 pm, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) supporters and workers have started celebrating at their party office in Patna.

Beating drums and raising slogans in praise of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and incumbent Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, the supporters and workers could be seen distributing face masks with the party's logo printed on them on Tuesday afternoon.

A supporter blew a conch shell, while others cheered: "Narendra Modi zindabad (hail Narendra Modi)", and "Nitish Kumar zindabad".

The looks like emerging as the single-largest party in Bihar polls. As per the EC trends for all 243 seats till 4.15 pm, the NDA is leading on 127 seats -- the BJP 77, JD(U) 42, Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) 5, Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) 3.

ALSO READ: Stop blaming EVMs: Karti Chidambaram on Congress' poor show in Bihar The is ahead on 102 seats -- the RJD 66, Congress 18, and Left parties 18.

The JD(U) has been declared the winner on two seats, while RJD one.

The BSP is leading on two seats, AIMIM on four, LJP on one and independents on three. Others have 19 per cent of votes.

Counting of the votes is underway for the three-phase elections, but the result declaration this time will be different due to the coronavirus pandemic. The counting will continue till late evening on Tuesday, said Chief Electoral Officer of Bihar H R Srinivasa.

The fate of 3,755 candidates across 243 seats will be decided with the Election Commission setting up a total of 55 counting centres, housing 414 halls, spread across all the 38 districts of the state that voted on October 28, November 3 and November 7.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Tue, November 10 2020. 18:10 IST