You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

Congress releases 4th list for LS polls, Shashi Tharoor, Nabam Tuki to contest again

ANI  |  Politics 

and former Chief of are among 27 candidates who will be fielded by party in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

According to its fourth list released late on Saturday night, has finalised candidates for 12 seats in Kerala, seven in Uttar Pradesh, five Chhattisgarh, two in and one in

Two-time sitting has been fielded from Thiruvananthapuram constituency in and former chief is set for a face-off in Arunachal West parliamentary constituency.

In Kerala, Hibi Eden, MLA, will be fielded in Ernakulam constituency in place of sitting member KV Thomas. Rajmohan Unnithan has been selected to contest from Kasaragod, a CPM stronghold. Anto Antony, the sitting has been fielded from Pathanamthitta.

Other candidates announced by the in include M K Raghavan from Kozhikode, VK Sreekantan from Palakkad, Remya Haridas from Alathur, TN Pratapan from Thrissur, from Chalakudy, from Idukki, Kodikunnil Suresh from Mavelikera and, K Sudhakaran from Kannur.

The Congress is contesting on 16 out of the 20 seats in leaving four seats for its allies - two seats for the Indian Union (IUML) and one each for the (Mani) and (RSP). Candidates for Alappuzha, Wayanad, Attingal and Vadakara have not been announced. Kerala goes to polls on April 23 in the third phase of the seven-phase elections.

With the fourth list, the Congress has thus far announced 35 candidates for the politically crucial state of

Harendra Malik from Kairana in Uttar Pradesh, from Bijnor, Omprakash Sharma from Meerut, from Gautam Buddha Nagar, Ch Brijendra Singh from Aligarh, Pritam Lodhi from Hamirpur and Bal from Ghoshi have been given tickets in

Earlier on Saturday, Apna Dal's faction sealed an alliance with Congress and finalised seat-sharing arrangement in It will be contesting from Basti and Pilibhit parliamentary constituencies of the state.

The party also released a list of five candidates from Chhattisgarh, where it unseated BJP to form the government last year. Three of the five candidates announced include sitting MLAs Deepak Baij (Chitrakot), (Surguja) and (Raigarh).

from Jangir-Champa and Biresh Thakur from Kanker are the other two.

Apart from who will contest from Arunachal West, the party is fielding from Arunachal Pradesh after party dropped Ninong Ering from Arunachal East.

Kuldeep has been fielded by the Congress in

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, March 17 2019. 01:31 IST