You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

62% voting registered in Haryana (Fourth Lead)

IANS  |  Chandigarh 

on Sunday witnessed 62.12 per cent voting in the 10 seats, an said. The figure was nearly 10 per cent less than the votes polled in the 2014 parliamentary polls.

The voter turnout is likely to be slightly higher than 62.12 per cent as people queued up at polling stations at the time of closure of the voting process could be allowed to cast their votes, the told IANS.

At 67.51 per cent, the highest voter turnout was recorded in Kurukshetra, followed by (67.07 per cent), (65.47 per cent), (63.52 per cent) and (62.98 per cent), the said.

Karnal, the home district of Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, saw the state's lowest voter turnout at 56.27 per cent.

Voting began at 7 a.m. for the Ambala, Kurukshetra, Gurugram, Faridabad, Hisar, Sirsa, Karnal, Sonipat, and Rohtak constituencies.

and sitting accused for Cooperatives of booth capturing and voter intimidation in Rohtak.

In a written complaint to Yash Garg, Hooda, seeking fourth straight term from his home turf Rohtak, demanded registration of a criminal case against Grover.

Acting on the complaint, election authorities directed Grover to remain in his office till the voting got over.

The poll said three election-related first information reports (FIRs) were registered -- two in Mewat in the district and one in Rohtak.

Long queues of voters were seen outside polling booths across the 10 seats in the morning. But by afternoon, most looked deserted as temperatures soared.

In the 2014 elections, 71.8 per cent polling was registered, which was higher than the 68 per cent in 2009.

Polling was delayed in some booths in Yamunanagar, Mahendragarh and Gohana towns due to malfunctioning of electronic voting machines (EVM).

Minister Khattar, former Minister and candidate from Hooda, Union Ministers Rao Inderjit Singh, and Birender Singh, and Indian were among the early voters in the state.

State chief along with his wife exercised their franchise in (JJP) candidate and sitting also voted in

Rao Inderjit Singh, and Hooda are among the 223 candidates, including 11 women, whose fate will be sealed by an estimated 1.80 crore voters.

The elderly too didn't miss an opportunity to exercise their franchise. Som Dutt, 98, exercised his franchise at a booth in Yamunanagar; while Shanti Devi, 92, reached the booth to cast her vote in a wheelchair in city.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Congress, Om Prakash Chautala-led (INLD) and its breakaway faction the JJP, are the main parties in the fray.

The BJP had won seven of the 10 Lok Sabha seats in 2014 with a vote share of 34.7 per cent against 17.21 per cent in 2009 when it failed to win any seat.

The then ruling Congress lost eight of the nine seats it had won in 2009 and saw its vote share decline to 22.9 per cent against 41.77 per cent in 2009.back.

The INLD, which won two seats in 2014, had increased its vote share to 24.4 per cent from 15.78 per cent in 2009.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, May 12 2019. 19:40 IST