You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Biplab Kumar Deb sworn in as Tripura CM, Modi assures all help to the state

Press Trust of India  |  Agartala 

today took oath as the chief of the first BJP government in Tripura, ending the 25-year rule of the Left Front, even as Prime assured full support for all-round development of the state.

Jishnu of the BJP was sworn in as the deputy chief along with seven other ministers.

administered the oath of office and secrecy to the ministers at a function at the sprawling Rifles ground, which was attended by Modi and

Forty-eight-year-old had staked claim before the on March 6 to form the government.

A long-time RSS volunteer, he has been largely credited for the BJP's turnaround in the state.

The deputy is yet to be elected as an MLA as polling in his Charilam (Scheduled Tribe) constituency was postponed due to the death of the CPI(M) candidate. The election to the seat is scheduled to be held on March 12.

The seven other ministers, five from the BJP and two from the Indigenous People's Front of Tripura(IPFT), a BJP ally, included its chief N C Debburman.

Ratan Lal Nath, Sudip Roy Burman, Pranajit Singha Roy, and the lone woman in the government Santana Chakma are from the saffron party.

Apart from N C Debburman, IPFT was the other minister from his party.

In his address after the swearing-in ceremony, the assured the new BJP government of providing full support for the all-round development of Tripura, saying the entire country was behind its march towards progress.

Modi said the northeastern region has many opportunities and potentials which have to be explored for its development.

"I appeal to the people of Tripura, lets take the state to a new height so that we can change the lives of the people. I want to assure that in its march towards development, the central government will provide full cooperation under the motto of cooperative federalism," he said.

The said that the will take along every citizen and all sections of the society and work for the development of the state.

Modi said the motto of the government would be development, good governance, people's participation and 'Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas'.

Rajnath Singh, senior BJP leaders Lal and Murli Manohar Joshi were present at the swearing-in ceremony, besides Chief Ministers of BJP-ruled states - Vijay Rupani (Gujarat), Shivraj Singh Chouhan (Madhya Pradesh), (Assam), (Jharkhand).

Outgoing was also attended the function.

Giant posters bearing images of Modi and Shah dominated the landscape in Agartala.

From the airport to the venue, BJP flags lined up both sides of the street, as party workers wearing saffron celebrated in the streets. Security was tightened in the capital city as the and many other dignitaries attended the ceremony.

"A 100-ft-long stage was erected for the big function. This is a big day for us as it marks a political transition for the state. The victory has been made possible by the development work of Modiji that has inspired our workers in to work for a change," BJP told here.

The alliance had won the Assembly elections with a two-thirds majority in the 60-member House. The BJP had bagged 35 seats and the IPFT eight of the 59 seats that went to polls.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, March 09 2018. 18:05 IST