You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Indian historian wins Israel's prestigious USD 1 mn Dan David award

Press Trust of India  |  Jerusalem 

Noted Indian has won Israel's prestigious Prize for this year for his work on inter-cultural encounters between Asians, Europeans and people of North and during the early modern era.

Subrahmanyam, son of K Subrahmanyam and brother of former S Jaishankar, won the award in the category of 'past time dimension' for his work in macro history.

He shares the USD 1 million award in this category with Prof of

The international Prize is awarded annually to those who have made outstanding scientific, technological and humanistic accomplishments in fields representing the past, present and future of human achievement. Three Prize are given every year.

The recipients in the "Past" category are generally drawn from the fields of history, archaeology, paleontology and biography; the "Present" from arts, media, policy and economics; and the "Future" from one of the exact or natural sciences.

This year's winners were chosen from the three categories for their work in macro history, defending democracy and combating climate change, respectively.

Subrahmanyam, an alumni of University of Delhi, holds the Irving and Jean Stone Endowed Chair in Social Sciences at the University of California, (UCLA), which he joined in 2004. He is also the recipient of the Prize for humanities for his "path-breaking contribution to history".

The eminent historian, who did his doctorate from Delhi School of Economics, began as an economic but later branched out to work on political, intellectual and cultural history.

is a joint international enterprise endowed by the headquartered at

The award ceremony is likely to be held at the university in May.

The prize, now in its 18th year, was established by late Dan David, an and philanthropist who envisioned a project that would extend beyond traditional academic categorisations.

The winners in the "Present" category for "Defending Democracy" this year has been won by Reporters without Borders, an organisation that works for the freedom of the Press and Prof

Ignatieff is a Canadian author, academic and former who headed and was also the of the official opposition for almost three years.

Christina Figueres, a Costa Rican has been awarded the prize in the "future" dimension for her role in combating climate change.

Subrahmanyam, with this honour, joins the group of other prominent Indian laureates of which includes Amitav Ghosh, Zubin Mehta, CNR Rao and

In order to encourage and foster new generations of scholars, the laureates are required to donate 10 per cent of their prize money towards scholarships for graduate or post-graduate researchers in their respective fields.

Other prominent recipients of the award include former US Al Gore, former British Tony Blair, Yo-Yo Ma, Margaret Atwood, Jimmy Wales and filmmakers Joel and

Meanwhile, reacting to Subrahmanyam's achievement, eminent Indian and writer tweeted, "Delighted that my college contemporary has won Our Dharma Kumar said when he was a student: Sanjay will be India's first truly world-class historian. And so it has proved."

He further said, Subrahmanyam "is a true polymath; in his command of languages and sources, his brilliant analytical mind, his interdisciplinary framework, his literary flair. Incidentally all his degrees are in economics, all from the

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, February 10 2019. 15:15 IST