You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Nitish, Sushil file nomination for Bihar council polls

Press Trust of India  |  Patna 

Kumar, Deputy Sushil Modi, and four others filed their nominations today for the biennial election to the state

Today is the last date for nomination filing for the polls, scheduled to be held on April 26 for 11 seats to the state's

Senior was the first among the seven candidates of various political parties who filed their papers at the Assembly secretariat today.

"CM Kumar, and filed their papers as JD(U) nominees for the council polls. I accepted the documents," Ram Shresth Rai, who is also the returning for the polls, told PTI.

Deputy CM and senior BJP Modi, Pandey and filed their nominations as BJP candidates, Rai said, adding that the Congress' Mishra also submitted his papers for the council polls.

Four RJD candidates -- former Rabri Devi, state Ramchandra Purbe, senior leaders and (son of former CM Jitan Ram Manjhi) -- have already filed their papers on April 13.

A total of 11 candidates have filed papers for 11 seats, which will fall vacant next month as the terms of the sitting members will expire.

JD(U) Kumar, Rabri Devi, Modi and Pandey are among those whose term will expire on May 6.

The scrutiny of papers will take place on April 17, while the last date for withdrawal of nominations is April 19, Rai said.

If no other candidate, apart from those who have already filed their papers, enters the fray, the results for all the 11 seats could be declared after 3 pm on April 19, he added.

and Modi will enter the state for the third consecutive term, while for Rabri Devi, it will be the second term in continuity.

After coming to power for the first time in 2005 heading an NDA coalition of the JD(U) and the BJP, both and Modi have been members of

For winning a council seat, a candidate needs 21 votes.

Of the major parties, while the RJD has 81 members in the Bihar Assembly, the JD(U) has 70 (excluding Vijay Kumar Chaudhary), the BJP 53 and the 27.

Of the 11 members, whose term will expire on May 6, five belong to the JD(U), four to the BJP and one to the RJD.

Narendra Singh, who had sided with Jitan after rebelling against Kumar but returned to the JD(U) after Manjhi joined hands with Lalu Prasad, had lost his council seat under the

In the current round, the ruling JD(U) and the BJP will lose two seats and one seat respectively, while the RJD can win four seats and the one.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, April 16 2018. 15:35 IST