You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Odisha to make 18 Marine Police Stations operational in 2 yrs

Press Trust of India  |  Bhubaneswar 

today set a target to make all the 18 Marine Police Stations operational in the next two years.

The decision was made at a review meeting on coastal security chaired by chief secretary A P Padhi. Earlier, the Centre had sanctioned 18 Marine Police Stations in two phases of which five were made functional.

Padhi said five Marine Police Stations have been established at Paradip, Balaramgadi, Dhamra, Jamboo and Arjipalli in the first phase.

In the second phase, as many as 13 Marine Police Stations have been sanctioned and the stations are to be established at Kasafala, Talasari, Chudamani, Kasia, Talachua, Tantiapal, Bandar, Jatadharimuhan, Penthakata, Astaranga, Ramchandi Arakhakuda and Sonapur in the second phase, he said.

The Marine Police Station will be set up to keep a tab on the illegal activities like arms smuggling, contraband articles, infiltration, unauthorised fishing, entry of anti-nationals through sea route and to guard all vital installations along the coast.

The Union had provided 15 interceptor boats, central assistance for creation of infrastructure, purchase of equipment, vehicles and motorcycles for the five Marine Police stations.

Of the 15 boats provided for the five marine police stations, only 13 boats were functioning and interceptor boats for 13 Marine Police stations had not yet reached the state, Padhi said.

This apart, the Centre has sanctioned five jetties to be constructed on coast for berthing of Marine boats but the state has not received funds for the purpose and any assistance for fuel for marine patrolling in the five Marine Police stations.

"The state would raise these issues with the cabinet secretary at a meeting scheduled to be held at New Delhi on November 20," said Padhi.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, October 11 2017. 21:32 IST