You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Shirshendu, Nabaneeta shortlisted for 'Big Little Book Award'

Press Trust of India  |  Kolkata 

Bengali writers Nabaneeta Dev Sen and Mukhopadhyay were among the shortlisted authors nominated for the 'Big Little Book Award' for children's literature in Bengali this year.

Amarendra Chakravorty and Kartik Ghosh were the two other shortlisted writers, a statement by Parag said today.

The 'Big Little Book Award' was instituted by 'Parag', an initiative of Tata Trusts.

In the second year of the award, the language in focus is Bengali. Last year, the language in focus was Marathi.

The awards will be conferred on November 19.

Nabaneeta Dev Sen, recipient of the Sahitya Academy Award and the Bharatiya Bhasha Parishad Award, has been writing for children as well as general readers since 1979.

Mukhopadhyay has also extensively written both for children and for adults with many of his books adapted for films by acclaimed directors.

He is the recipient of Sahitya Academy Award and Ananda Puroshkar.

Amarendra Chakravorty is a poet and writer whose 'Hiru Dakat' and 'Shada Ghora' are well known fictions for children.

Ghosh has been the recipient of the National Award for Childrens literature for his book Ekta Meye Eka, the statement said.

'Parag' is a decade old initiative to give recognition to authors and illustrators and create awareness on role and importance of children's literature.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, November 05 2017. 20:42 IST